The Legal Consequences

48-Hour License Suspension for 16 and 17-Year Old Drivers

DUI Laws In Other Countries

The number of alcohol-related driving fatalities in the United States today

The Legal Consequences

DUIs and the LawA drunk driving arrest is no slap on the wrist. We're talking fines, loss of license, jail time and worse. Wondering what the penalties really are?

Check out the Penalty Matrices below to see just what awaits DUI offenders. Just keep in mind license suspension periods are outlined in the first chart are imposed in addition to the criminal penalties outlined in the second chart.

DRUNK DRIVING LAWS - printable brochure


License Suspension Periods




Refusal to submit to a blood, breath or urine test

6 Months

1 Year

3 Years

Test results show a BAC level of 0.08% or higher but below 0.16%

90 Days

9 Months

2 Years

Test results show a BAC level of 0.16% or higher

120 Days

10 Months

2 ½ Years

* For drivers under age 18, there are even stronger suspension periods for a first offense:

  • refusing to submit to a blood, breath or urine test results in an 18 month license suspension
  • test result showing a BAC level of 0.02% results in a one year license suspension


Criminal Penalties



3rd and Subsequent





Prison Sentence:

Madatory 48 hours of a maximum 6 month sentence;
6 months suspended sentence with 100 hours of community service. 

Mandatory 120 days of a maximum 2 year sentence and 100 hours of community service.

Up to three years, with mandatory minimum of one year and probation with 100 hours community service.

License Suspension:

One Year

If under age 21, three years or until you are 21 years of age, whichever is longer; If over age 21, one year.

If the arrest was in Connecticut, the suspension is for 1 year and the operator is prohibited from operating a motor vehicle without an ignition interlock device for two years after license suspension. Suspension is for 3 years if the arrest did not occur in Connecticut.

The license is permanently revoked, although the driver may request a hearing to reinstate the license after 6 years.


For more information, take at look at a report from the State of Connecticut's Office of Legislative Research.


How much is too much? Take the screening.
  © Copyright 2003-2024, all rights reserved